Ways to Get Involved

WMHCA has several committees available for our members to participate in and get involved.

Standing Committees

WMHCA started with three standing committees that meet regularly throughout the year.  They are education, membership, and legislative. To get involved in any of the committees please reach out to the committee chairs or  shannon@wmhca.org.

Education-Ellen Carruth PhD, LMHC, NCC ellen.carruth@gmail.com

Legislative-Dominique Avery PhD, NCC, LPC (ID), LMHC (WA) davery@saybrook.edu

Membership-Mitch Teufel ABS LMHC mwteufel@comcast.net

Two other committees that currently meet monthly are justice, equity, diversity and inclusion (JEDI), and strategic planning.  Other committees that meet as needed are finance, scholarship, and nominating.  If you are interested in any of these committees reach out to shannon@wmhca.org.

Barriers to Licensure Sub-Committees

This past summer the Washington Mental Health Counselor Association hosted two work groups focused on decreasing barriers in the mental health profession.  WMHCA has now complied that data and has facilitated the formation of sub-committees.  The sub-committees will use the data WMHCA collected and then do a deeper dive of the information.  They will then bring any legislative asks back to WMHCA and will determine if there are other things WMHCA can do outside legislation to decrease barrier.  Each subcommittee is chaired by a WMHCA member.  If you are interested in serving on a subcommittee you can reach out directly to the committee chairs.

Insurance

Co-Chair: Adrienne Helander LMHC, MHP,

WA approved supervisor

adrienne@fivemountainsmentalhealth.com

425-480-2090

 

Co-Chair: Margaret Curtin Rey-Bear LMHC, NCC,

WA approved supervisor, Certified EMDR Therapist

meg@wellnesstherapiesspokane.com

509-481-9629 x701

 

Ongoing Professional Issues

(Professional Responsibilities, Licensure Process Issues, Legal Protections for Clinicians)

Chair: Michael Samsel LMHC

michael@michaelsamsel.com

206-931-8355

Venture Capitol Companies

Co-Chair: Elizabeth Glisczinski LMHC LPCC

beth.glisczinski@gmail.com

971-322-6024

 

Co-Chair: Letitia Johnson PhD, LicSW, BC-TMH, CHT, CMHS

ljohnson21@antioch.edu

Supervision

Chair: Karin Potter LMHC, CMHS,

WA approved supervisor

info@karinpotter.com

509-486-7870

Clinician Burn out and Self-Care

Chair: Brenda Butterfield EdD, MSW, LMHC

Ournewexperiences@gmail.com

Clinician Safety

Chair: Pam Raphael LMHC

pam@wmhca.org

Unpaid Internships

Co-Chair: Bailey Walther LMHCA, NCC

connect@beconnectedcounseling.com

 

Co-Chair: Sophia Bean, MA, LMHCA

GrowSetCounselingServices.com

206.445.1145

 

Community Mental Health

Co-Chair: Adrienne Helander LMHC, MHP,

WA approved supervisor

adrienne@fivemountainsmentalhealth.com

425-480-2090